If you have had your driver’s license suspended due to a DUI or an accident, you are probably anxious to have your driving privileges reinstated. In the state of Massachusetts, there are a couple of ways that you can check the status of your driver’s license.
Checking Your Status by Phone
You can call the RMV and a customer service representative will check your record for you. They also have a TTY service for people who are deaf and hard of hearing. In order to obtain your status, you will need to provide your name, social security number, driver’s license number and date of birth.
Check Your Status on the Website
The internet is a better way to check the status of your license. You will not have to wait on hold for a customer service representative. You will also get to put in all of your own information, so there is less chance of making a mistake. If you go online you will be able to check any outstanding charges or legal obligations associated with the license. You can also check to see if you can renew your license online or if you will have to come into the RMV, advised professionals from IDA.
Getting a Driver’s License Reinstated
If you find that your license suspension period has ended, you will need to attend a hearing before you can actually start to drive again. You will also have to pay fees associated with your offense.
Reinstatement fees run from $100 to $1200 and are determined by the nature and severity of your violation. If your license was suspended for more than two years, You may be required to take a written exam as well as a road test. If it was suspended for a shorter period, you may only have to take the written exam or do paid cdl training.
You may also have to take classes before you can drive again. Classes that may be required include the National Safety Council’s Driver’s Retraining Program, The State Court’s Against Road Rage Program and various drug and alcohol classes.
What to Expect at Your Hearing
Each type of offense has its own kind of suspension hearing with its own set of rules for what you need to get your license reinstated. If you’re applying for a hardship license you will need a note from your employer or school stating what hours you work or attend classes. If you are attending a hearing for an accumulation of multiple offenses, you may face a license suspension that will go on for years, unless you can document that the RMV records were inaccurate.
Finding an Attorney
It is always a good idea to have an attorney by your side whenever you have a court hearing of any kind. Your driving privileges are important, and an experienced RMV attorney who is well versed in Massachusetts state law, such as Lawyer Brian Simoneau can help. A trained attorney will know exactly what arguments to use at a hearing and what documents a driver will need to have their license reinstated.
Keeping apprised of your driver’s license status is a good way to avoid problems with traffic courts in the future. It is the best way to make sure there are no errors on your record. With a little bit of research, your license reinstatement can go smoothly.