What Is a DUI?
Driving under the influence is a criminal offense in Florida and other states. It occurs when a person operates a vehicle while impaired by drugs or alcohol. Law enforcement officers usually use a field sobriety test to assess if a driver is intoxicated or not. The consequences of a DUI conviction can be severe and include prison time, fines, and a criminal record. In Florida, the length of time a DUI stays on your driving record depends on the severity of the offense and other factors.
What Are the Penalties for a First Dui Charge in Florida?
If caught driving under the influence (DUI) in West Palm Beach, Florida, you’ll likely face serious penalties. Your first DUI conviction can result in a fine of up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, and a driver’s license suspension of up to one year. In addition, this serious offense can result in your vehicle being impounded for 10 days. You may also be required to attend a mandatory DUI school and have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test to check blood alcohol content will automatically get your driver’s license suspended for one year.
Another DUI criminal offense in Florida can result in some serious penalties. For example, you may be subject to a mandatory license suspension of up to five years if you are convicted of a second DUI. You may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. Additionally, you may be ordered to attend substance abuse counseling and pay fines and court costs. If you are in such a situation, consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer like Reep Law Jacksonville attorney who can help you navigate the legal system and protect your rights.
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Driving Record?
The consequences are serious if you’re convicted of a DUI in the state of Florida. Not only can you expect to pay a hefty fine, but your driver’s license may also be suspended or revoked. And that’s just the beginning. How long a DUI stays on your driving record depends on a few factors. Generally, it will remain on your record for at least seven years. However, if you’re convicted of a DUI that results in someone’s death, the conviction will stay on your record for life.
What Are the Consequences of a DUI on Your Insurance Rates?
A DUI arrest and a Florida DUI conviction have serious consequences. You will likely have to serve prison time and community service, your Florida driving record privileges will be revoked, and you’ll have to pay hefty DUI charges.
But one of the most long-lasting consequences of a DUI charge is the impact it can have on your insurance rates. A conviction for driving under the influence can increase your rates by hundreds—or even thousands—of dollars per year. In some cases, you may even be dropped off by your insurance company altogether.
How Can an experienced Florida DUI attorney Help You?
Under Florida law, a reckless driving charge and DUI convictions can have serious consequences, including fines, jail time, and a criminal record. But the consequences don’t stop there. A DUI will also stay on your driving record for up to 10 years, making it difficult to get car insurance, find a job, or rent an apartment. Luckily, there is help available. An experienced DUI lawyer or experienced DUI attorney can help you fight the charges and minimize the consequences of a DUI conviction. In addition, they can advise you on your legal rights, represent you in court, and help you have the best possible results from your DUI case.